Sweetly Sings the Donkey

Shelagh Delaney

Rights Enquiries

Amateur: bonnie.widger@concord.com

Professional: eva@saylescreen.com

Sweetly Sings the Donkey, is a radio trilogy by Shelagh Delaney, adapted for the stage by Charlotte Delaney.

We first meet the young girls Lillian, Nina, Vivian and Barbara in the austere post- war Blackpool convalescent home they have been sent to recover from their various ailments. Under the watchful and unforgiving eye of the resident nuns, the girls form a friendship that will last a lifetime and their world is brought to life through merciless humour and honesty.

Decades later we catch up with them and learn of the adventures and adversities they have faced both together and apart, including a prison, a convent and a stint as a serial killer. In the end, their irritations and frustrations with each other, surrender to the loyalty and furious love that only friendship can provide.